Get the latest news about the COVID-19 pandemic from around the world at our coronavirus hub.
Chat support is unavailable, and phone and email support are limited due to COVID-19 health and safety considerations for our employees. For help with an issue, please search our help articles.

Why do I have to sign in when 'Keep me signed in' is selected?

Staying signed in to your Yahoo account allows for quick, convenient access to all your favorite Yahoo services. Your account's default setting is set to "Keep me signed in" for 2 weeks, unless you sign out. However, there are some circumstances when you'll be prompted to sign in again.

Issues with your cookies can sign you out

Other causes that can sign you out

  • You've accidentally clicked Sign Out.
  • You're using a new browser from your previous sign in.
  • You're on the Account security page - Yahoo requires a password to access sensitive info.
  • Account Key is enabled for extra security - You'll need to accept a notification each time you sign in.
  • You're switching to another Yahoo account - You can change your settings to sign in to multiple accounts.